Packing : Carry-on

I get really excited about travelling. Actually about anything. My Christmas countdown starts at 100 days, there’s 70 days left if you’re not like me. In July, when I asked my parents for a trip to the USA for my 21st, I started packing before I asked them.

I have under a month to go, and believe me, I’ve packed and unpacked and repacked and packed. Since I live in dorms (for 10 more days!), I usually need to wear the clothes that I’ve already packed, so this doesn’t work out all too well.

Instead, I decided to start compiling my carry-on. Usually, I would COMPLETELY recommend just carry-on luggage. You really don’t need more than 30L of gear, no matter how long, since you’re wearing the same clothes over and over. I’m taking a checked bag. The reason why? I’m essentially MOVING. My checked bag probably will be only around 10kgs, but it’s full of every winter/snow clothing item I can find, which is not a lot, because I’m Australian, and there is no snow.

SNOW. Don’t get me started.

Here’s my beloved carry-on.

 

I mention it a lot, but it’s the Deuter Trans Alpine 28L Women’s Fit (only available in purple).

My carry-on list, is as follows:

  • Plastic folder containing airplane itinerary, visa information, insurance information, evidence of funds etc.
  • Laptop, power cord, case
  • Kindle, Book (I leave this on a chair at the end of one of my flights), Magazine, Puzzle/word book
  • Journal, small notepad
  • DSLR camera, lens, camera gear (better safe than sorry), point-and-shoot, chargers
  • Wallet and Passport
  • Reusable shopping bag
  • Plastic bag
  • Spare underwear and socks
  • ear plugs
  • ear buds/headphones
  • phone and charger
  • ipod/music player and charger
  • sunglasses
  • scarf (to be used as blanket)
  • inflatable small pillow
  • spare ziplock bag
  • snacks
  • toiletries including deodorant, prescription medication, sleep aid, pain killer/advil, toothbrush and toothpaste, face wipes, moisturiser, foundation, mascara, lip balm, tissues, VERY tiny bottle of body spray

I haven’t had too many long flights, my longest two being a 14 hour Sydney – Los Angeles and a 6 hour Los Angeles to New York. I learnt a lot from these flights, and adjusted my previous carry on contents.

One of the biggest things, was that Australian airports, and New Zealand airports, have showers. I couldn’t find any at LAX or JFK. I travelled for 25 hours, got off the plane, and into the arms of a man I hadn’t seen in 18 months, not terribly attractive. This is why I included baby wipes, deodorant, a little makeup, and body spray.

 

Leave a Reply

