Home : The Man and the River

“No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it’s not the same river and he’s not the same man.”  – Heraclitus of Ephesus

I just read this quote today, and it’s beautiful. It’s definitely hitting a chord.

I’ve spent the whole day studying (Are you proud parents?). I’ve been learning a lot this past season, like how I should have listened to EVERYONE. My degree looks like a Jackson Pollock painting. My old friend Nick, who I found out mid phone call was on the other end of the university help desk, was incredibly helpful and is helping my transcript neaten itself up a little bit. So there’s that.

For one of my classes we’re studying Stem Cell Research, and the social implications/discourse of it. I’ve been learning about Eugenics vs. new genetics. Basically, Eugenics is the movement to improve the genetic makeup of the world or of a smaller group (think Hitler). It’s pretty apparent to most totalitarian schemes and has been met with a whole bunch of criticism. The new genetics is concerned with working with genes to provide individuals’ choices to eliminate disease states (rather than other characteristics like intelligence, height, or hair color) – yes it does sound like, a fancy, schmancy way of saying ‘abort babies that have issues’. I have no idea where I stand on the latter issue, mostly because I don’t want to get into the whole moral/ethical vs. science debate anytime soon. I recently had a debate with three Americans about U.S Foreign Aid and that turned nasty.

So in summary, I’ve been reading and highlighting all day, I like that rivers change, and I don’t like morals vs science debates because I take them personally. Oh, and walking my uncoordinated dogs in the sunshine clears my head.

Leave a Reply

